Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

English Language

I am an international student and i would like to study medicine in UK.
    I tried to sit IGCSE First Language English but i did't manage to get more than a C.
    Then i sat the IGCSE Second language English and i got a B.
    Do you thing this is enough for me.
    Will the un. accept me with a IGCSE Second language English at grade B?

Have you tried ringing up some universities and asking them?
    ~KitKat~

I came to the UK two years ago and just finished my GCSEs. I did English as my first language.....although it was really really difficult. Try to e-mail the universities you are interested and ask them. You may have some luck for that you are not living in the UK. Best wishes! :wink:

I dont really know anything about IGCSEs but make sure you have got an English qualification before you apply to any universities. The most recognised test is the IELTs test in which you have got to score a number 7 (some universities may require a higher score). If you prepare enough for it then it should be no problem.

Most universities say which qualification is necessary and what score/grade is required on their website.

Having passed IGCSE English Language at C or above is all the english qualification you need. It is a brittish exam (international GCSEs from cambridge examboard for anyone wondering) and u dont need to do any other extra test things.
    Or at least I know for a fact that i don't need to take any further extra tests to prove my english ability and im an international student too and i did IGCSE english language also.
    I do English literature and language at AS and A level also but in fact no one in my school needs to take any extra english exams even those that "only" have english to GCSE level. lol. :lol: somehow we always end up sounding like such snobs in AS/ A level English lit lang when we talk about GCSEs. sorry, not meant to sound patronising at all. oh well. :roll: