urgent advice please- extenuating circumstances

hi, i need urgent advice regarding extenuating circumstances. Basically, i have been made a conditional offer for undergradate medicine course. I am a mature student (22) and did my A-levels (not resit) last year and got AAA. Therefore my conditional offer is subject to me achieving a Grade B or above in the GCSE Mathematics. I already have a grade C.

I am having few problems lately (health related) and probably will not be able to resit my GCSE exam in june due to surgery. I do have valid extenuating circumstances and can get a medical note from the hospital/GP but i am scared that if i bought those to the attention of medical school they will take away my offer or defer my entry to 2007. I would also like to point out that my health problem will not compromise my studies in september or effect my ability to be a doctor. It's just temporary and needs to be addressed sooner rather then later.

My question is, what does a medical school do if due to extenuating circumstances someone misses an exam? Do they still let her/him on the course (especially with something as pedestrian as GCSEs)? I am really scared, in fact terrified at the thought of losing a medical place so weighing my options very carefully.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated? Anyone in the past who missed their A-level/GCSE exams due to genuine problems? What happened?

Thanks
    Last edited by baljitsingh; 14-04-2006 at 07:26 AM.

It sounds like this is a decision for the medical school. Things like these are done on a case by case basis.

If a grade B GCSE is a condition to you entering the degree course in Sept, then they will notice if a result doesn't come through. So you will have to tell them your cirmcumstances. If you can't do the exam you won't meet the conditions (the same as if you don't meet CRB or health requirements etc.).

The medical school have given you an offer so they do want you to do medicine at their university!