Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Unhappy Problems with Student Finance?

Hi all,

I just applied to student finance for a second degree in medicine 5 year course - today is the first day of 2013/14 applications opening. I know, KEEN!

I'm getting worried as the application says that I may be entitled to 0 for everything, tuition fee, maintenance loan and grant etc. whereas the calculation I did intitially said I would be entitled to a Maintenance Loan only which is fine.

I'm aware that second degree grads applying for 4 year courses are not entitled to maintenance grant or tuition fee loan but I have read everywhere, including the NHS careers website that we are entitled to a income assessed maintenance LOAN. I'm worried that I may actually be entitled to nothing - but I can't see how that can be as I'm an independent student. I'll be 25 when I start my course and I've been working for 4 years now. Also my income isn't loads and I won't be earning anything when I start uni anyway!

I also don't have a partner, so surely I will be entitled to SOMETHING. I'm just freaking out right now and just hoping that the student finance initial online assessment thingy just assumed I'm not entitled to anything and hasn't clocked that medicine is an exception to this rule... worried. as I won't be able to go to uni without the maintenance loan.

Has anyone had this experience with the Student Finance last year and did it all work out in the end?

Would appreciate any advice. Perhaps I will ring them tomorrow to get some clarity...

Hi,

I haven't applied for funding yet but, as you thought, graduates doing a 5 year course should get a maintenance loan (though nothing else - no fee loan or maintenance grant).

Apparently, the most effective way to proceed is to ring student finance and, essentially, tell them what you are entitled to.

Financial support for students on degree courses in medicine - NHS Careers