Query about work experience w/out science a-levels

Hi everyone,

This is my first post on the forum, so hello! I am a soon-to-be English graduate hoping to apply to medical school in a few years. I am going to sit my A-Level in Chemistry next year (or as soon as affordable), but have been highly engaged in the arts for my time as a student, due to my course and related commitments, so I was wondering whether if I could get some advice/ hear some of your experiences of getting placements for personal statements without the 'proper' A-Levels.

I am going to contact local hospitals, surgeries and hospices to do shadowing and volunteering, but I wonder how any fellow arts-grad medics found the experience of shadowing or similar work without the right A-Levels? Did it fill you with a lack of confidence, and how did you bypass this (i.e. did you pick up a few science A-Level books in preparation, or would this be of limited help)? I don't know whether you thought the knowledge acquired from A-Level would be of limited use in those situations anyway...? I was personally considering starting out with hospices and charity volunteering first before attempting something in a hospital or GP.

(I should add, though, that perhaps I haven't been that unengaged from the world of medicine - I have been heavily involved with the medical course at my university and some of its schemes for the past four years, reading about medical issues, news, and debates almost daily in my spare time, and even been practiced on hundreds of times as an OSCE patient - so perhaps I shouldn't worry too much about a lack of knowledge?)

Any advice, suggestions, and experience would be much appreciated. I appreciate that I might have the completely the wrong idea about everything so I would love to hear from you. Thank you!