Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Advice for an Arts graduate beginner, if you'd be so kind :)

Hi everyone,

I've been scouring these forums for about 6 months now, and I can't deal with the denial any more! I was hoping the desire to do medicine would fade, as the road seems so long and arduous. However, I really do think it's what I want to do, and it's time to make a plan - and your advice would be amazing

I have an English degree (starred First, top 10 uni) and am going to do my Master's (with a full scholarship) at Oxford next year. I applied for this last September, whilst still in the denial stage! However, I do enjoy English still, it is fascinating and I'm not going to turn down the opportunity to go to Oxford - it shouldn't, alas, but it might help in some way?! I'm lucky to have always been a natural academic; I got 10 x A*s and 3 x As in my GCSEs (inc triple sciences - last time I did science!) and AAAAa in my A Levels (all arts, and AS Maths), but wanted to be a writer when I was 16...

After several stints of volunteering and travelling abroad since graduating, I've realised my desire to help other people is overwhelming. I volunteered in a school in Africa and at a day care centre for HIV positive children - this is where the flame of medical desire ignited! Then I went to India and did some community development projects there, and was so inspired by a group of doctors who'd set up a charity hospital for tribal people in Karnataka. Unbelievable people. I felt a little useless, and there were doctors (who'd just finished F2) who were volunteering in my team. They could do so much... After 6 months of travel and such, I came home and got a job in publishing, in an office...and hate it. The meaningless of it all; being stuck in an office all day; processes, flowcharts, corporate jargon....argh! Cue existential crisis, and here I am!

So that's a snapshot of me! Thanks for reading thus far