Recommend best admission route to take for this graduate?

Hi all,

This is my first post to these forums, which have been very helpful already! I'm interested in studying medicine and wondering if it's too late for me, now at age 26.

My background: In 2005, I graduated with BSc Computer Science with 1st class honours and have since been working for the Foreign Office - and more recently, the University of Edinburgh, as a software/systems engineer. I am having a re-think about my long-term career and for many reasons (which I won't bore you with), trying to understand the feasibility of returning to study medicine in 2010, 2011, 2012...

At A-Level, I studied Chemistry (A), Biology (B), Mathematics (D) and General Studies (B), finishing in 2000. The unfortunate mathematics grade is a sorry story... I re-sat some modules to try to improve my grade and unfortunately performed poorly on the day.

Does anyone have any thoughts on my best route to admission? Initially, I thought it best to re-sit my A-level mathematics now, as I'm confident I could achieve a grade A. However, upon investigating several university admissions policies, many require A-levels achieved in one sitting, or degrees received within 5 years.

Feeling a bit stuck (and old!), and as I suspect many do, frustrated that I'm already locked out of the system! I'm willing to study virtually anywhere, take access courses or re-sit A-Levels - and I'm certain I have the enthusiasm and commitment required. Just want to know that the route I take is the most effective.

Many thanks in advance, all thoughts an opinions welcome!
    Joe.

you have the required degree and the required a-levels for most graduate medicine courses...
    check out: Medschoolsonline - Medical Course Guide for Graduates - Graduate Entry 4-Year Courses

most of them entry exams too, so you'll need UKCAT and/or GAMSAT.