Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

'A' level Chemistry and Biology in 1 year?

Im a mature student with a degree in Sports Science (2.1). I then started studying Biomedical Science with the aim of going in to laboratory science and got a 1st in the first year. But now ive had a taste of the medical sciences I have decided to give to give medicine a shot. Ive just done the GAMSAT and MSAT entrance exams for the fast track in to medical schools but they did not go too well. If I dont get in this year which doesent look likely then Ive decided to apply for the 5 year courses because the 4 year courses are so competitive. However, I would have to get my 'A' levels in Biology and chemistry which i do not have (Even though I appreciate how much more expensive it will be!).

I am far from a novice but im still sceptical if i could do it in a year. My local college has said i could if i wanted to. Has anyone else here done this before?

I know of people that have done A-level in one year - it is very hard work but it can be done Well done in your degree !!
    Leeds Medic

i think its def possible, ppl who apply to access to med courses usually get to do that, i think dont quote me! good luck.

But would I have to get A grades in both even though I have a degree?

It's very doable although it depends on what else you would have on jobwise.

2 A-levels in a year is pretty much the same as 4 in 2.

I did something similar while working full-time. It's a big commitment so think carefully before you start. It would help you massively with Gamsat by the way.