n.k

Canadian Student Applying in the UK (Medicine)

Hi,

I am a 3rd year undergrad student at McMaster University. I have been thinking a lot about applying to medical school in the UK. I understand that they accept students right out of high school but my problem is that I am almost done 3 years of undergrad and my university cGPA is not good at all, I am currently sitting at a 2.6 GPA. However, my high school marks are a lot better (with an average of 85%), so I was wondering, since I am going to apply this summer (not completely sure to which universities; one of them is likely going to be Aberdeen University) will they be looking at my university marks or is sending in a high school transcript good enough? Because I don't want to trump my chances of acceptance because of my current undergrad marks as those are a result of circumstantial and personal stress. Should I be worried about not getting acceptance BECAUSE of my undergrad marks? Should I not send in my university transcript at all so they don't base their decision on those marks? Or will that be considered dishonesty?

Because I really want this and I plan on staying in the UK post-graduation. In fact I plan on moving there no matter where I finish my studies. Also, I will be sitting the UKCATs this summer and I am currently volunteering at the hospital and plan to do so until August 2014. And I can also get references from some of my professors here at McMaster. PS. How many references do they require? or is it different from school to school?

n.k
    Also, I will be applying as a mature student, if that makes any difference.

I wouldn't stress too much, academic criteria for overseas students are a bit more relaxed as the UK universities are desperate to get their hands on the high fees you will be paying.