student nurse to medical student?

Evening everyone,

I have just registered on here and was looking for some advice, hope I have come to the right place!

I am currently studying children's nursing and am in my second year, which I thoroughly enjoy. However, I am considering dropping out at the end of my second year to apply for medicine at Glasgow for 2012 entry. I enjoy caring for children in the medical environment but feel I would like the knowledge base of a medic. I have a real thirst for learning and think this would be a good career move, I wasn't sure if I would be capable/it was the right area at the time when I was applying for nursing but through this course and placments I feel it may well be. I think ideally I would like to work as a paediatrician of some description but this may change if through studying medicine I discovered something new.

I have a 2:1 arts degree from 2008 but no science highers (closest is statistics and psychology modules from 1st degree and the biology I have learned through nursing)so I would need to gain these in a year out while working to save pennies. I have emailed Glasgow Uni re entry requirements but no response so think I will call soon. I'm not too sure of how funding works, I didn't have a student loan last time round so I think I would be eligible for that, not sure if there is additional support out there for graduates into medicine, this is something I will have to investigate.

I'm 25 and would like to start a family eventually but I realise this won't be financially possible until after the 5 years and that depends on if I even get in and how many attempts it may take in addition to the ticking biological clock. Plus I'm not sure how my current uni and course would react to me dropping out in favour of medicine, would they give me a reference and then say I don't get in would take me back to do m final year in nursing. I'm not even sure how to approach them on this!